meet pearl

runs like a champ

runs like a champ

Grandmommie’s sewing machine is up and running. for Valentine’s Day i got it serviced/cleaned for a whopping $95. i know, i know, i could have gotten a new machine for that price. but a) i don’t ever always do things the easy way… {well except i donate my old stuff to goodwill, instead of trying to sell it in a garage sale. that’s too much effort.} and b) i wanted to learn how to sew on THIS machine. SO i did!  once i threaded it myself (it took me a while), i burst into tears.  i felt like my grandma was right there.  i’m pretty sure she was.

my mom gave me my grandma’s sewing machine many years ago. i tried learning once, and was too overwhelmed. i’m not sure what’s changed, probably just my attitude. after getting Pearl all cleaned up, i did what every modern seamstress does, i took to Pintrest. i’m pretty sure my grandma would have been in Heaven if Pinterest were around 20 years ago.  she loved this sewing machine.  my mom told me she was so proud of it when she bought it.  many-a-quilts have been made on this baby.  so i’m not sure if quilting is my thing, but i did make a blanket for E.  i am beyond thrilled {and proud} of how it turned out.  i wasn’t sure what i was doing, but i pinned the heck out of the fabrics and voila:

coming up roses

coming up roses

then i made another blanket for  Lauren, a friend who has a cute little boy:

boys blanket; argyle

boys blanket; argyle

then another blanket for my BF Katie’s lil Hallie:

minky and dots

minky and dots

and yet another blanket for my friend Keely’s lil man, but I forgot take a pic.  it was the sock monkey print.

i have even experimented with a dog bandana, pillow covers, and little zipper pouches.

zipper pouch

zipper pouch

zipper pouch

zipper pouch

pillow cover

pillow cover

red toile pillow

red toile pillow

green floral toile pillow cover

green floral toile pillow cover

Max, in his doggy bandana!

Max, in his doggy bandana!

i think i have got this baby blanket down. here’s the {tutorial i used}. each time i get a lil faster. oh and my corners are getting better.  practice REALLY does make perfect.  should have listened and stayed after practice shooting free throws in high school.  live and learn. sorry coach.

i think there is something in the water, because many of my sorority sisters and friends are sewing and embroidering.   welcome back 1950.

and the name Pearl came from my friend Mary’s new pup.  i haven’t even met this dog, but i’m sure she’s as cool as my sewing machine.

maybe i’ll do an ETSY shop?

Leave a Reply

