Colorado Balloon Classic

Glow Balloons

Glow Balloons

Since seeing the balloons glow last night, I’ve had that 80’s song by Nena in my head… “99 red balloons…” I can even picture the video where the lead singer is walking around and there are balloons in random places. The German version was my favorite though.  I had no idea what she was saying, but it was a great song.  It was good growing up in the 80’s.

I digress.

We’ve only been in Colorado, coming up on two years.  This festival has been going for 37 years! It was a little state fair-ish, and a tiny pinch renaissance-y.  There were a lot of fried things.  Hot air balloons, of course.  Glow things, which we spent $13 bucks on. And Emarie’s favorite, there were butterfly fairies with bubbles (excuse the awful pictures of the fairies, darn camera batteries died).

My favorite balloon

My favorite balloon

Rainbow Bright fairy

Rainbow Bright fairy

Fairy Queen

Fairy Queen

Emarie was so excited to stand by her.  Can't tell, but she was.

Emarie was so excited to stand by her. Can’t tell, but she really was. Ryan seem pretty happy too.

Glow crown

Glow crown

Also, a glow belt.

Also, a glow belt. Hey, Macarena!

Ditched the crown for a glow sword.

Ditched the crown for a glow sword.

Mom wore the crown with pride.

Mom wore the crown with pride.

We even shelled out $3 for 5 minutes on this guy:

I was so proud she was willing to do the inflatable.

From this vantage point, I was primed for some great shots.

Here she is at minute 2. Not quite halfway.

Here she is at minute 2. Not quite halfway.

And here she is at minute 4.  And the tears were flowing.

And here she is at minute 4. And the tears were flowing.

She gave it the ol’ college try, which made us proud!

Confession: When I was a kid, my sister didn’t want to go to the fair or Bell’s Amusement park with me.  She wanted me to invite my friend Sheena.  She wasn’t afraid of the Zingo, or any other roller coaster death trap, like I was. Seems my girl is following in my footsteps.  You’ll find us at the ferris wheel or the balloon dart game. Actually, check the funnel cake stand first.

Next year, sis, you’ll ride the inflatable slide like a boss.

Leave a Reply

